JUST DA TRUTH – ABOUT YOUR TRUTH AND YOUR SHIELD PART 1

….his truth shall be thy shield and buckler.  Psalms 91:4 King James Version

There is a lot of power in the truth.  The truth is who The Holy Spirit is,… He is the Spirit of Truth.  The Holy Spirit bares witness with the truth.  He will not bare witness with a lie.  This is why it’s so important for us to KNOW and SPEAK the truth at all times.  Psalms 91:4 says that His truth is our shield and buckler.  The word shield there is the Hebrew word tsinnah.  Tsinnah means large shield.  Now lets look at another scripture where this word shield was first used.

After these things the word of the LORD came unto Abram in a vision, saying, Fear not, Abram: I am thy shield, and thy exceeding great reward. Genesis 15:1 King James Version

Now when you look at Psalms 91:4 and see that it says that His Truth is our shield (remember this means large shield) and our buckler.  God’s truth is His Word. It’s what He speaks and says.  This truth is our shield and buckler.  For right now I want to focus on the word shield.  We already looked at the word shield in Psalms 91:4. Let’s take a look at it in Genesis 15:1  This scripture takes place right after Abram and his 318 trained servants had just whipped a good number of kings with larger armies than what Abram had.  This proves what Elijah said about there are more that be with us than be with them.  When God is with you, you can be one and put a thousand to flight or two and put ten thousand to flight.  Abram won the battle and brought back all the people that were taken and the spoils.  He returned the spoils and people to their rightful kings and kingdoms.  But you know what, even after so great a victory its interesting to see how Abram was a lot like us.  After returning  from this great victory Abram was worried that those kings would regroup and come back after him and his family.  After all Abram was an immigrant, an alien, an outsider, kinda like you at your job.  So Poppa, God the Father being the good Daddy that he is speaks a word to Abram.

After these things the word of the LORD came unto Abram in a vision, saying, Fear not, Abram: I am thy shield, and thy exceeding great reward. Genesis 15:1 King James Version

That scripture states “the word of the Lord came unto Abram”.  The word of the Lord here is the word logos and it means the pre-incarnate Christ.  You can recognize this as Jesus because He never changes.  How many times did Jesus say to people in the New Testament, “Fear not”?  He never changes!  He says to Abram, “Fear not, Abram: I am thy shield, and thy exceeding great reward.”  The word shield there is the Hebrew word magen.  The root word of the word magen is the Hebrew word ganan.  That word ganan means to cover, surround, defend and protect.  Now that word shield or tsinnah in Psalms 91:4 means large shield.  This large shield is one that covers the whole person or body.  His truth is our shield that covers us, surrounds us, defends us and protects us.  It is our job to ‘fear not and dwell in the secret place (Jesus) of the Most High (El Elyon) and abide under the shadow (protection) of the Almighty (El Shaddai).  This is short but powerful and I encourage you to really read and study these scriptures and stories in Genesis and Psalms yourself because it’s the Truth that YOU KNOW that makes you free,  When you know The Truth then you know His Truth is your shield and buckler.

All the ‘blessed’ to you!!! Shalom!

4 thoughts on “JUST DA TRUTH – ABOUT YOUR TRUTH AND YOUR SHIELD PART 1

  1. Once again, Vincent, you have given me some meat to chew on. “It is our job to ‘fear not and dwell in the secret place (Jesus) of the Most High (El Elyon) and abide under the shadow (protection) of the Almighty (El Shaddai)”. You know, I thought I had a revelation not long ago with this verse. I took the ‘secret place of the Most High” to be the consciousness or mind of God. So that we dwell in the Mind of God, and in the mind of God there is no sickness, no evil, no harmful thoughts or fears, etc. What let me to that thought was the verse that says, “My thoughts are not your thoughts, my ways are not your ways”. I had a fearful thought and I imagined God saying, “NO, that is NOT my thought…MY thoughts are NOT your thoughts,” and I was able to say to myself that if that does not exist in God’s mind for me, than it certainly should not exist in mine.

    I don’t know if that makes sense the way I explained it, but now you have given me a new thought. That Jesus is the secret place, and when we abide in Him then we are abiding or dwelling in the secret place of God. I love it!!!

    I also enjoy the explanation of the shield, Truly amazing. Thank you, my friend.

    Marianne

    Like

  2. That is good Marianne. I don’t believe that God is talking to us when He said My thoughts are not your thoughts. You have to look specifically at WHO He was talking to. He was not talking to US. If He was He would not have said that we HAVE the mind of Christ in the New Testament. You alway have to be mindful of Old Testament scriptures that are speaking to people who are not born again. A change has taken place. In the Old Testament God was talking to servants. In the New Testament He is talking to SONS and DAUGHTERS. You don’t talk to your son the same way you talk to your servant. Shalom!!! Thank God 4 U!!!

    Like

  3. Thank you for the clarity, Vincent. I understand that some things in the old Testament are not for us who are in Christ. I think that scripture popped into my head at that particular time because my thoughts were not the mind of Christ, but most certainly my imagination was being overcome by things I’ve seen and heard from the world…fearful things, and God was trying to say to me that those thoughts were not in His mind, and they are not given to us by the mind of Christ. That if they were not in His mind, then they should not be in mine. I know where they came from, but I needed a gentle reminder how to stop them. If my mind is mind of Christ, then those thoughts have no right to be part of my imagination, which should be used for creating God manifestations, not destructive ones.

    Anyway, I understand the rush…I’ve been on the computer all morning catching up on all sorts of things, and trying to do laundry…Have a happy day ♪♪♪

    Like

Leave a Reply

