JUST DA TRUTH – ABOUT PRAYING, BELIEVING & RECEIVING HIS REST Part 2

But now the LORD my God hath given me rest on every side, so that there is neither adversary nor evil occurrent. I King 5:4 King James Version

We talked about receiving His Rest, the kind of rest only God can give.  We broke down some of the specific things such as rest on every side and having no adversary or evil occurrent.  This type of life and living seems almost impossible, like a dream.  But I encourage you that you see it right there in the Bible so you know its possible.  With God the Father nothing is impossible.  He said He would do this and He did it.  But did it just happen?  No it didn’t.  Lets find out how this came into being for Solomon.

Now I will set the story up for you, so David had built himself a fine home and one day as he sat on the throne thinking he summoned Nathan the prophet.  He told Nathan that he lived in a fine home while God in the Ark of the Covenant dwelled in tents.  Nathan then told King David do all that is in your heart for the Lord is with you. But that night the Lord appeared to Nathan and told him to go tell David that he was not the one to build the Lord a house. But it would be his son who would do it. Let’s pick up there.

6Then David sent for his son Solomon and instructed him to build a Temple for the LORD, the God of Israel. 7“My son, I wanted to build a Temple to honor the name of the LORD my God,” David told him. 8“But the LORD said to me, ‘You have killed many men in the battles you have fought. And since you have shed so much blood in my sight, you will not be the one to build a Temple to honor my name. 9But you will have a son who will be a man of peace. I will give him peace with his enemies in all the surrounding lands. His name will be Solomon, and I will give peace and quiet to Israel during his reign. 10He is the one who will build a Temple to honor my name. He will be my son, and I will be his father. And I will secure the throne of his kingdom over Israel forever.’  I Chronicles 22:6-10 New Living Translation 

So we see this whole idea of rest and peace was God’s idea.  He told David that He would give Solomon peace with his enemies in all surrounding lands.  That is rest on every side.  The Lord was the SOURCE of this peace or shalom and rest. But I want you to look at what happened earlier in chapter 17.

23“And now, O LORD, I am your servant; do as you have promised concerning me and my family. May it be a promise that will last forever. 24And may your name be established and honored forever so that everyone will say, ‘The LORD of Heaven’s Armies, the God of Israel, is Israel’s God!’ And may the house of your servant David continue before you forever.

25“O my God, I have been bold enough to pray to you because you have revealed to your servant that you will build a house for him—a dynasty of kings! 26For you are God, O LORD. And you have promised these good things to your servant. 27And now, it has pleased you to bless the house of your servant, so that it will continue forever before you. For when you grant a blessing, O LORD, it is an eternal blessing!”  I Chronicles 17:23-27 New Living Translation 

So you see this chapter is right after Nathan came and told David what the Lord had said.  Do you notice David’s response. He believed and then prayed to the Lord.  It was not some religious prayer it was simply talking to God and thanking Him for what He had offered to David.  And then he simply prayed by saying the same thing the Lord already had said and he added in a few request with it.  That what The Lord had said will last forever and that The Lord’s name would be established and honored forever.  Very simple, just agreeing with God after finding out what the Lord said.  Sounds like Mary, Jesus’s mother who after finding out what The Lord said then said, “Be it unto me according to thy Word.”

So how do you do this.  You get in The Word and find out what it says and then you go to The Lord and say what he said.  He promised you Shalom.  You have a better covenant than even Solomon through Christ Jesus. But even that Old Testament promise is yours thru Christ because all the promises of God are YES and AMEN!!!!!

I want you to look at something David said and never forget it.

For when you grant a blessing, O LORD, it is an eternal blessing!  I Chronicles 17:27 New Living Translation 

So that eternal blessing of rest and shalom on every side is yours. Do like David did.  Believe it, pray or say it and receive it!!

All the ‘blessed’ to you!!! Shalom!

Leave a Reply

