JUST DA TRUTH – ABOUT BEING BORN OF THE WORD!

Being born again, not of corruptible seed, but of incorruptible, by the word of God, which liveth and abideth for ever. I Peter 1:23 KJV

Think about this!  Fish are born in the water and have to stay in the water in order to survive, live and thrive.  Too long out of the water and they will die.  Do you know the reason you see the Christian symbol on cars and other places as a fish?  A fish has scales and gills.  The scales keep out certain things and if the fish happens to breathe or take in anything that is considered a pollutant they are able to expel it thru their gills and their fins allow them to quickly move from that polluted area to a place to obtain suitable water.  A lot of parallels there but the main thing to keep in mind as we start this New Year is STAY IN THE WATER ,…. OF THE WORD!!

The above scripture just stood out to me as I studied early yesterday. I had to give thought to the fact that I was born again by The Word, by Jesus. The Word is living  and abiding forever and it is what keeps YOU as a believer living and abiding.

Look at the New Living Translation.

For you have been born again, but not to a life that will quickly end. Your new life will last forever because it comes from the eternal, living word of God. I Peter 1:23 NLT

Now lets look at Proverbs  Chapter 4.

20My child, pay attention to what I say.
Listen carefully to my words.
21Don’t lose sight of them.
Let them penetrate deep into your heart,
22for they bring life to those who find them,
and healing to their whole body. Proverbs 4:20-22 NLT

The word healing there in verse 22 really mean medicine in the Hebrew. So The Word is feeding and strengthening your spirit, your soul and your physical body as well.  I encourage you just as you eat daily multiple times a day be sure to eat a good spiritual meal daily as well.  I was listening to a message from a minister I really respect and he said something that really woke me up. He said, “If you take periods of time away from The Word of God, no matter what excuse you make for it regardless if it is you children, work or just TV you don’t realize that at that point  YOU ARE UNDER ATTACK by the enemy.  Now stop and think about that.  Notice I didn’t say get condemned about it if you have not been spending time in The Word. I said think.  Do you really see not spending time in The Word as an attack? I actually didn’t,  even though I spend time in The Word daily, I did not see it as an attack. Now think about this.

If  someone was to come to you and try to talk you out of physically eating food for a day or two or three or more what would you think of that person?  Would you think, “They are really looking out for my health?” or something else. What about a doctor who convinced you that you only needed to eat one day a week and then just a snack not a full meal.  I would go so far as to say that person is trying to kill you, intentionally or unintentionally.  Unfortunately some believers do this for weeks or for months or even years?  They get a meal on Sundays or Saturdays and depending on the quality of teaching they are listening to it may not even be able to be considered a meal.  I am not trying to be mean at all. Your spiritual life and health are important. They have to be important to you.  Jesus said, “Man shall not live by bread alone but by every WORD that proceeds from the mouth of God.”  Most believers would never call Jesus a liar but they do with their actions. They eat physical food regularly but barely eat spiritual meat. The just shall LIVE by faith. Faith comes by hearing and hearing by the Word of God Who is Jesus. Humans live by oxygen.  The just live by faith.   My goal is not condemnation my goal is encouragement to get into The Word and when you do don’t get out.  Don’t let days and weeks and months go by without spending time with Jesus (Who is The Word), intimately you and Him. He is The Living Word that abideth forever and He desires to spend time with you.  This message is a little sobering but it is still JUST DA TRUTH.

All the blessed to you!!! Shalom!

Leave a Reply

