JUST DA TRUTH – ABOUT THE UNFAIRNESS OF GRACE

……much more they which receive abundance of grace (unmerited favor) and of the gift of righteousness shall reign in life by one, Jesus Christ.)  Romans 5:17 King James Version

You know, there are a lot of people in the world including some believers who believe that God is not fair!!!  Well I have some good news for them!!! THEY ARE RIGHT,….in a sense.  If we look up the word fair it originally meant to be beautiful.  God is beautiful and has made beautiful things.  But when these people talk about fair what they mean is you gave that other person five pieces of candy and you only gave me two or you gave them a three hundred thousand dollar house and you only gave me a hundred thousand dollar house.  So in that sense God is not fair.  As a believer God does not treat you fairly He treats you favorably.  And you should get down on your knees and thank Him now because if God treated everyone fairly, we would all be dead today.  Why?  Because no matter how good you think you are, the things that you have done or thought of doing which is all the same to Him are worthy of death.  But The Father because of Jesus or Grace, does not punish you according to your sins or misdeeds. Why?  Because He already punished His Son Jesus for every single sin every person would ever do past, present or future.  Let’s take a look at the unfairness of Grace here in Genesis 20.

Abraham moved south to the Negev and lived for a while between Kadesh and Shur, and then he moved on to Gerar. While living there as a foreigner, 2Abraham introduced his wife, Sarah, by saying, “She is my sister.” So King Abimelech of Gerar sent for Sarah and had her brought to him at his palace. 3But that night God came to Abimelech in a dream and told him, “You are a dead man, for that woman you have taken is already married!” 4But Abimelech had not slept with her yet, so he said, “Lord, will you destroy an innocent nation? 5Didn’t Abraham tell me, ‘She is my sister’? And she herself said, ‘Yes, he is my brother.’ I acted in complete innocence! My hands are clean.” 6In the dream God responded, “Yes, I know you are innocent. That’s why I kept you from sinning against me, and why I did not let you touch her. 7Now return the woman to her husband, and he will pray for you, for he is a prophet. Then you will live. But if you don’t return her to him, you can be sure that you and all your people will die.”  Genesis 20:1-7 New Living Translation

Now I want you to examine something.  As a king Abimelech had the right to take any unmarried woman he desired and Abraham told him that Sarah was his sister.  This was a repeated lie that Abraham committed twenty-five years earlier.  So Abraham after all that God had done was still dealing with the same fear which caused him to continue this lie.  But did God go to Abraham and tell him he was a dead man for lying and being in fear?  NO!! Instead he went to Abimelech and told him he was a dead man for taking Abraham’s wife.  THAT’S NOT FAIR!!!  So what is going on here?  You know what is going on or Who is going on?  Grace is going on! Jesus is going on!!!  Now keep your hat on because there is even more unfairness to come, keep reading.

Abimelech got up early the next morning and quickly called all his servants together. When he told them what had happened, his men were terrified. 9Then Abimelech called for Abraham. “What have you done to us?” he demanded. “What crime have I committed that deserves treatment like this, making me and my kingdom guilty of this great sin? No one should ever do what you have done! 10Whatever possessed you to do such a thing?” 11Abraham replied, “I thought, ‘This is a godless place. They will want my wife and will kill me to get her.’ 12And she really is my sister, for we both have the same father, but different mothers. And I married her. 13When God called me to leave my father’s home and to travel from place to place, I told her, ‘Do me a favor. Wherever we go, tell the people that I am your brother.’”  Genesis 20:8-13 New Living Translation

So now we have Abraham admitting it was a lie and that it was to save his own life and that it was based on fear.  Now Abimelech should have been really angry and want to punish him.  But look at what GRACE makes him do instead.

Then Abimelech took some of his sheep and goats, cattle, and male and female servants, and he presented them to Abraham. He also returned his wife, Sarah, to him. 15Then Abimelech said, “Look over my land and choose any place where you would like to live.” 16And he said to Sarah, “Look, I am giving your ‘brother’ 1,000 pieces of silver in the presence of all these witnesses. This is to compensate you for any wrong I may have done to you. This will settle any claim against me, and your reputation is cleared.” Genesis 20:14-16 New Living Translation

So now Abraham and Sarah get enriched and get given gifts after their ruse.  THAT’S NOT FAIR!!!!! As a matter of truth if you keep reading you will learn that Abraham had to pray for the king and his people because God made the women in Abimelech’s kingdom infertile because of him taking Sarah. That just does not seem fair and it is not.  Abraham was trying to protect himself by lying and it would seem that he should have been punished by God and the king.  Instead ‘all things work together for good for Abraham because he loves God and is the called according to His purpose.”  He gets sheep, goats, cattle and male and female servants and 1,000 pieces of silver for his ruse.  God used the situation to bless and increase Abraham. The truth is again that The Father does not treat you fairly He treats you favorably because of Jesus! So you should expect unfair treatment from the Father.  As for me and my house we will take FAVOR over FAIRNESS from the Lord everyday.

All the ‘blessed’ to you!!! Shalom!

Leave a Reply

